Super Rugby


Thirteen Queenslanders named in Buildcorp Wallaroos squad for Japan Test series

Buildcorp Wallaroos head coach Dwayne Nestor has finalised his squad of 29 players ahead of the team’s Test series against Japan, kicking off in Newcastle at No.2 Sportsground on Saturday 13 July.

The squad is dominated by players that competed in the thrilling Buildcorp Super W Final including 13 players from runners-up Queensland Women’s.  

11 uncapped players are in line to make their debuts this July, including Queenslanders Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea, Shannon Mato, Averyl Mitchell, Christina Sekona, Lori Cramer and Asako Ono. 

Australia has four Tests in 2019 including a two Test Series against New Zealand at Optus Stadium in Perth and Eden Park in Auckland in August. 

Fans will also be able to purchase Buildcorp Wallaroos merchandise to cheer on the team, through or at the match venues.  

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach, Dwayne Nestor said: “I’d like to congratulate every player on being selected in the squad for what is going to be a massive series against Japan this July. 

“There were some really difficult selections to be made, but that is a testament to the work ethic of the extended squad and the real depth we are growing following on from the second season of Buildcorp Super W. 

“The hard work is only just beginning, as we have a massive opportunity this year with the Tests scheduled and I know the squad is looking forward to getting into camp in Newcastle on July 6.”  

The Buildcorp Wallaroos meet Japan in Newcastle on Saturday 13 July and at North Sydney Oval on Friday 19 July with both matches to be broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS and Kayo.  

Millie Boyle, Royals (Canberra), Queensland Women's XV
Emily Chancellor, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 
Rebecca Clough, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women  
Grace Hamilton, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 
Alisha Hewett, GPS/ADFRU, Queensland Women's XV 
Evelyn Horomia, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women
Asoiva (Eva) Karpani*, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women
Michaela Leonard*, Vikings, Brumbies Women 
Kiri Lingman, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV 
Ashley Marsters, Box Hill, Melbourne Rebels Women 
Shannon Mato*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV 
Averyl Mitchell*, Souths, Queensland Women's XV 
Sera Naiqama*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women  
Liz Patu, Wests, Queensland Women's XV
Emily Robinson, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women 
Christina Sekona*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV 

Mhicca Carter, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women 
Georgia Cormick*, Powerhouse, Melbourne Rebels Women 
Lori Cramer*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women's XV 
Ariana Hira-Herangi*, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women 
Chloe Leaupepe, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women 
Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV
Cobie-Jane Morgan, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV 

Arabella McKenzie*, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women  
Mahalia Murphy, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women 
Asako Ono*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women's XV 
Trilleen Pomare, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women 
Sarah Riordan, Wests/ADFRU, Queensland Women's XV 
Samantha Treherne, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV

*Denotes Uncapped 

Buildcorp Wallaroos 2019 Fixtures 
Saturday 13 July
Australia v Japan, Newcastle Sportsground Number 2, Newcastle  
Friday 19 July
Australia v Japan, North Sydney Oval, Sydney  
Saturday 10 August  
Australia v New Zealand, Optus Stadium, Perth 
Saturday 17 August 
Australia v New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland

Rugby Traveller