Super Rugby


Buildcorp Wallaroos squad named for 2019 campaign

The Buildcorp Wallaroos have named their first extended squad of 2019 with 16 St.George Queensland Women’s players selected.

Fifteen players from the 2019 squad have been recognised for their performances during the Super W season, while centre Nareta Marsters, who was part of the squad in 2018, has been named as she makes her return from injury.

Eight uncapped Queenslanders have been named – Toa Filimoehala, Shannon Mato, Averyl Mitchell, Chirstina Sekona, Lori Cramer, Alana Elisaia, Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea and Asako Ono.

Australia will face Japan in a two Test Series on home soil this July, before taking on New Zealand at Optus Stadium in Perth and then Eden Park in Auckland in two Trans-Tasman Double Headers.

The new look Buildcorp Wallaroos squad will have some competition amongst the back line with young talents Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea, Lori Cramer, Alana Elisaia (Queensland Women), Courtney Hodder (RugbyWA Women) and Maya Stewart (NSW Waratahs Women) all set to battle it out for potential Test honours.  

In the forwards, South Australian Eva Karpani (NSW Waratahs Women), who first barnstormed onto the scene playing for the University of Adelaide in the Aon University Sevens Series, gets an opportunity alongside Queensland hooker Averyl Mitchell, who was one of the star performers for Queensland across the 2019 Buildcorp Super W season.

NSW Waratahs women halfback Iliseva Batibasaga returns to the national fold for the first time since 2016 while fellow back Katrina Barker is also set to re-ignite her International career after last featuring at the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup in Ireland.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach Dwayne Nestor said: “This is a strong extended squad after what has been a really pleasing Buildcorp Super W season.

“We saw the standard of the competition continue to grow and that has led to an improved squad of players to select from.

“This squad is about preparing not only for our biggest year on home soil, but also making sure we are continuing to build a strong program for the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup.

“Players will come and go from this squad based on their form and performance so it’s vital that every player continue to work hard at training over the coming months.

“We are excited about the year ahead and we know we have a real opportunity to create some amazing history for the Buildcorp Wallaroos jersey.” 

The squad was selected following the conclusion of the Buildcorp Super W season that saw NSW Waratahs Women defeat Queensland Women 8-5 in the Final at Leichhardt Oval last Sunday. 

Tickets for the Japan Test Series will go on sale next Thursday 18 April.

Millie Boyle, Bond University, Queensland Women’s XV
Emily Chancellor, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Rebecca Clough, Cottesloe, Western Australia
Toa (Dora) Filimoehala*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
Grace Hamilton, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Alisha Hewett, GPS,, ADFRU, Queensland Women’s XV
Evelyn Horomia, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women
Fi Jones*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Asoiva (Eva) Karpani*, NSW Waratahs Women
Michaela Leonard, Brumbies Women
Kiri Lingman, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
Ashley Marsters, Melbourne Rebels Women
Shannon Mato*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
Michelle Milward, Vikings, Brumbies Women
Averyl Mitchell*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women’s XV
Sera Naiqama*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 
Georgia O'Neill, Uni Norths, Brumbies Women
Liz Patu, Wests, Queensland Women’s XV
Emily Robinson, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Christina Sekona*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
Ana-Lise Sio, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women
Tayla Stanford, Vikings, Brumbies Women
Violeta Tupuola, Vikings, Brumbies Women
Darryl Wickliffe, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women

Katrina Barker, Newcastle, NSW Waratahs Women
Iliseva Batibasaga, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Mhicca  Carter, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women
Georgia Cormick*, Powerhouse, Melbourne Rebels Women
Lori Cramer*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women’s XV
Alana Elisaia*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV

Courtney Hodder*, Palmyra, Rugby WA Women                  
Zakiya Kereopa*, Nedlands, Western Australia
Atasi Lafai, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women
Chloe Leaupepe, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV
Crystal Maguire Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Nareta Marsters Souths, Queensland Women’s XV
Cobie-Jane Morgan, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV

Mahalia Murphy, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women
Asako Ono*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women’s XV
Shanice Parker Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Trilleen Pomare Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women
Sarah Riordan, ADFRU, Queensland Women’s XV  
Maya Stewart*, Newcastle Waratahs, NSW Waratahs Women
Samantha Treherne, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV
Samantha Wood*, Gungahlin Eagles, Brumbies Women

*Denotes Uncapped

Buildcorp Wallaroos 2019 Fixtures
Saturday 13 July

Australia v Japan, Newcastle Sportsground Number 2, Newcastle 
Friday 19 July
Australia v Japan, North Sydney Oval, Sydney 
Saturday 10 August 
Australia v New Zealand, Optus Stadium, Perth
Saturday 17 August
Australia v New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland  

2019 Memberships

Rugby Traveller