Super Rugby


St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 9 team against Bulls in Pretoria

The St.George Queensland Reds have made four changes to their starting XV for Sunday morning’s match against the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria.

Chris Feauai-Sautia will start at outside centre in his return from a hamstring injury, as captain Samu Kerevi shifts back to 12. 

Outside back Aidan Toua earns his first start this season on the wing replacing Sefa Naivalu, who is being rested in accordance with Rugby Australia’s workload management policy. 

While prop Taniela Tupou and hooker Alex Mafi will both come off the bench and into the starting frontrow this weekend.

Tupou and Mafi’s inclusion in the XV sees Ruan Smith and Brandon Paenga-Amosa drop to the bench. 

They’ll be joined by other new two faces with backrower Angus Scott-Young cleared of concussion and University of Queensland flyer Jock Campbell potentially set to make his Super Rugby and Queensland debut. 

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “Playing at Loftus is always a great and challenging experience. The Bulls will be highly motivated playing at home. After a couple of results haven’t gone their way, they’ll be putting in a good performance in front of their fans.

“We’ve decided to rest Sefa as part of Rugby Australia’s resting policy. He’ll be missed. He’s been playing outstanding rugby for us. It sees Aidan get an opportunity this week. 

“A big well done to Jock for being in the 23. It’s good to see another man from club Rugby come into our program and be rewarded for the hard work he’s put in. As a group we congratulate him,” said Thorn. 

The Reds play the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria on Sunday morning at 1:15am AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports. 

Queensland continues their South African tour next week, as they travel to Durban for next Friday’s match against the Sharks at Jonsson Kings Park. 

The Reds return home in Round 12 as they host the Sunwolves at Suncorp Stadium on Friday May 3. Tickets available via

St.George Queensland Reds v Bulls – Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria on April 14 at 1:15am AEST

1. JP Smith – GPS  
2. Alex Mafi – Bond University 
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4. Izack Rodda – Easts 
5. Harry Hockings – University of Queensland  
6. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths
7. Liam Wright – Easts 
8. Scott Higginbotham – Wests 
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland 
10. Bryce Hegarty – GPS 
11. Aidan Toua – Brothers
12. Samu Kerevi (c) – Souths
13. Chris Feauai-Sautia – Souths 
14. Jack Hardy – Easts 
15. Hamish Stewart – Bond University 

16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank
17. Harry Hoopert – Brothers
18. Ruan Smith – GPS  
19. Angus Blyth – Bond University  
20. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
21. Moses Sorovi – Wests 
22. Duncan Paia’aua – Norths
23. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland*

*Denotes potential Queensland and Super Rugby debut

Rugby Traveller