Super Rugby


10/24/2018

St.George Queensland Reds return to SCG in 2019


One of the world’s most iconic sporting venues will provide a historic backdrop for Australian Super Rugby’s greatest rivalries in 2019.

The Sydney Cricket Ground will play host to the annual grudge-match between the St.George Queensland Reds and New South Wales Waratahs on Saturday March 9.

The venue shift follows the Waratahs home base - Allianz Stadium, being knocked down and rebuilt over the next three years.

After opening their season against back-to-back Kiwi sides in the Highlanders and Crusaders, the Reds travel to Sydney in Round 4 to take on their southern rivals.

Queensland played its first representative game in 1882 against New South Wales and the two have been rivals ever since.

The Reds have played their last three matches against the Waratahs in traditional maroon jerseys and that’ll be the case once again after Queensland announced earlier this month they’re going back to maroon full-time in 2019.

It always shapes as a match not to miss and with next year’s fixture being played at the iconic SCG, it further recognises the two club’s proud 136-year history. 

SCG Trust Chairman Tony Shepherd said: “NSW and Queensland have a decorated history at the SCG dating back to their first match at ground in 1882.

“We’re excited about rugby’s return to its spiritual home, which will remain a key venue for the NSW Waratahs while Allianz Stadium is redeveloped into a world-class stadium over the next few years,” Shepherd added.

Waratahs Head Coach Daryl Gibson said: “We celebrated our history and heritage in the match against the Reds at the SCG in 2018 and that was a magnificent occasion for both teams, and a first time to this iconic venue for a lot of our team. 

“The SCG is one of world sport’s most recognisable venues and we are delighted to continue rugby’s legacy and association with the ground. As a global game, rugby offers plenty of unique experiences and playing at the SCG certainly ranks high,” Gibson said.

Reds memberships are now available and on sale now at redsmembership.com.au

St.George Queensland Reds 2019 matches
Round 1: BYE
Round 2: Friday 22 February v Highlanders, Dunedin
Round 3: Saturday 2 March v Crusaders, Suncorp Stadium
Round 4: Saturday 9 March v Waratahs, Sydney
Round 5: Saturday 16 March v Sunwolves, Tokyo
Round 6: Sunday 24 March v Brumbies, Suncorp Stadium
Round 7: Saturday 30 March v Rebels, Suncorp Stadium

Round 8: Friday 5 April v Stormers, Suncorp Stadium
Round 9: Sunday 14 April v Bulls, Pretoria
Round 10: Friday 19 April v Sharks, Durban
Round 11: BYE
Round 12: Friday 3 May v Sunwolves, Suncorp Stadium
Round 13: Friday 10 May v Rebels, Melbourne
Round 14: Saturday18 May v Waratahs, Suncorp Stadium
Round 15: Friday 24 May v Chiefs, Hamilton
Round 16: Saturday 1 June v Jaguares, Suncorp Stadium
Round 17: Friday 7 June v Blues, Suncorp Stadium
Round 18: Saturday 15 June v Brumbies, Canberra 

2019 Memberships