Super Rugby


Bond University Queensland Country bolstered ahead of final round clash with NSW Country

Bond University Queensland Country will be bolstered by the return of three key players ahead of their final regular season match of the National Rugby Championship (NRC), against the NSW Country Eagles in Tamworth.
Wallabies backrower Caleb Timu returns from Rugby Championship duties to start at Number 8, while James Slipper will start at tight-head prop after missing last weekend’s clash with the Rays and scrumhalf James Tuttle will don the no.9 jersey after an ankle injury has kept him sidelined for the past fortnight.
The return of the trio sees Jake Simeon drop out of the match day 23, while backrower Harry Wilson and scrumhalf Tate McDermott shift to the reserves.
Queensland Country haven't dropped a game to NSW Country since Round 1 of the inaugural NRC season in 2014, and the side will be keen to keep their record against their Country cousins alive as they fight for the chance to potentially host a home semi-final.
“Once again we have a tough challenge ahead of us this weekend, travelling to Tamworth to play NSW Country on their home turf,” said Queensland Country head coach Rod Seib.
“But the side have the chance once again to influence their destiny, with a win against the Eagles potentially providing us with the chance to host a home semi-final, depending on the outcome of the Western Force v Fijian Drua match.
“We’re focused on the task ahead however and we’re fortunate to welcome back some established players with plenty of experience to bolster the side this weekend.
“NSW Country have been on the improve and only narrowly went down to City last weekend so we need to be wary of a side hungry to finish their season on a high in NSW Country heartland.”
The clash between Queensland Country and NSW Country kicks off at 2:00PM AEST on Saturday at Tamworth’s Scully Park, and will be broadcast LIVE on Fox Sports CH503.
Queensland Country side to face NSW Country: 
1. Richie Asiata - Easts
2. Effi Ma’afu - Wests
3.James Slipper – Bond University/Gold Coast
4. Harry Hockings – Reds/University of Queensland – Bowen
5. Angus Blyth – Reds/Bond University – Gold Coast
6. Angus Scott-Young – Reds/University of Queensland
7. Tom Kibble - GPS
8. Caleb Timu – Reds/Souths
9. James Tuttle – Reds/GPS
10. Hamish Stewart – Reds/Bond University – Pittsworth
11. Chris Feauai-Sautia – Souths
12. Duncan Paia’aua – Reds/Norths - Rockhampton
13. Jordan Petaia - Reds/Wests
14. Filipo Daugunu - Reds/Wests
15. Jock Campbell - University of Queensland – Gold Coast
16. Alex Casey - Souths
17. Harry Hoopert - Reds/Brothers – Jondaryn
18. Kirwan Sanday - Easts
19. Rob Puli’uvea – Wests
20. Harry Wilson – Brothers
21. Tate McDermott – Reds/University of Queensland – Sunshine Coast
22. Tom Lucas – Sunnybank - Rockhampton
23. Patrick James - Brothers

Rugby Traveller