Super Rugby


Samu Kerevi wins 2018 Pilecki Medal as St.George Queensland Reds Players’ Player

Bullocking St.George Queensland Reds centre Samu Kerevi has claimed the 2018 Pilecki Medal for players’ player of the year.
It is the first time Kerevi has won the award and he did so despite missing the last two games of the season due to injury. The medal is named after legendary Queensland prop Stan Pilecki, the state’s first centurion, who sadly passed away late last year.

Kerevi polled 191 votes in total across 14 games, edging out 22-year-old prop Taniela Tupou (152 votes) and departing back Jono Lance (151 votes).

The 24-year-old was consistently one of the Reds’ best throughout season 2018 and a key contributor to the side’s attack. A potent attacking weapon, Kerevi features in the Top 10 of the competition for runs (146), run metres (1,187) and tackle busts (63).
The award was presented at the Reds’ end of the season lunch, held at the XXXX Brewery and Ale House, where the team recognised a number of achievements, including 12 debutants, two 50th Queensland caps (Kerevi and Chris Feauai-Sautia), 100 Super Rugby caps (Kane Douglas) and the contributions of all departing players.
Along with the Pilecki Medal, the Reds presented two other awards, with 18-year-old outside back Jordan Petaia named Rookie of the Year and scrumhalf James Tuttle recognised as best displaying the Spirit of the Reds.
Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s great to be able to cap off our season with a team lunch, recognising the contributions made by a number of players across the year.
“To be voted by your peers as the best player is fantastic recognition for Samu Kerevi. He is a passionate Queenslander who gives everything for the jersey. The acknowledgement of your teammates is the greatest honour a player can have.
“As a former prop, we know Stan loved it when forwards won the award, but he certainly appreciated the way Samu approaches the game, with passion and physicality. This is the first time Stan hasn’t been around to present the award, but his name lives on and he will always be remembered as the larger than life character who gave so much to Queensland Rugby.
“We also recognised the Rookie of the Year and the Spirit of the Reds. We were really impressed with Jordan Petaia in his first season of Super Rugby. He started training with the squad in pre-season when he was still 17 and he has taken everything in his stride. He debuted as the youngest-ever Reds player in Super Rugby has played 11 games for Queensland already. He is an impressive young man with a bright future in the Reds jersey.
“James Tuttle has had a tough season, not everything has gone his way and it has been a tight tussle for that Number 9 jersey, with three talented players pushing for selection, but he has carried himself well throughout those challenges and continues to apply himself and push those around him to be their best. The Spirit of the Reds acknowledges someone who displays the characteristics we want to see in our team and he has done that all season.”

Kerevi said he was surprised, but honoured to receive the award. 

“It’s definitely a blessing and a massive honour to receive the Pilecki Medal. I was a bit surprised, but I’m honoured to receive the award from the group, it’s an important one to us as Queenslanders.

“It’s great to see so many young guys come through this year. We have a lot of potential in the group so we need to make strides forward in 2019.”

2018 Award winners
Pilecki Medal – Samu Kerevi
Rookie of the Year – Jordan Petaia
Spirit of the Reds – James Tuttle
2018 Pilecki Medal Top 10
Samu Kerevi – 191
Taniela Tupou – 152
Jono Lance - 151
George Smith – 148
JP Smith – 142
Chris Feauai-Sautia – 125
James Slipper – 124
Izack Rodda - 115
Angus Scott-Young – 114
Caleb Timu - 113
Pilecki Medal History
2018 Samu Kerevi (191 votes)
2017 George Smith (278 votes)
2016 Liam Gill (282 votes)
2015 Liam Gill (420 votes)
2014 James Slipper (239 votes)
2013 Jake Schatz (269 votes)
2012 James Slipper (272 votes)
2011 Will Genia (263 votes)
2010 Will Genia (209 votes)
2009 Digby Ioane (253 votes)
2008 David Croft (195 votes)
2007 David Croft (188 votes)
2006 Rodney Blake (186 votes)
2005 Nathan Sharpe
2004 Chris Latham
2003 Julian Huxley
2002 Chris Latham
2001 Toutai Kefu
2000 Chris Latham
1999 Chris Latham
1998 Daniel Herbert
1997 John Eales
1996 Jason Little
1995 Jason Little
1994 Matthew Pini
1993 Rod McCall
1992 Peter Slattery

2019 Memberships

Rugby Traveller