Super Rugby


St.George Queensland Reds team to play NSW Waratahs at Suncorp Stadium

The St.George Queensland Reds have named their team to take on their oldest rivals, the NSW Waratahs at Suncorp Stadium this Saturday.
The Reds have made two personnel changes and a positional switch to the starting team, along with a number of changes to the reserves, ahead of their final match before the June Test window.
The coaching staff have made just the one change to the starting forward pack, with lock Kane Douglas returning to the starting side, shifting Harry Hockings to the bench.
In the backs, 22-year-old scrumhalf Moses Sorovi has earned his first start, with Ben Lucas moving to the bench. Meanwhile, Hamish Stewart and Jono Lance have swapped positions. Stewart returns to the starting flyhalf jersey for the second time this season, with Lance assuming the fullback role.
In the reserves, hooker Alex Mafi has returned to the match-day squad for the first time since Round 13, with Andrew Ready dropping out of the 23.
Utility back Jayden Ngamanu has also returned to the squad for the first time since Round 8, with Aidan Toua dropping out.  
Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s a big game this weekend. Queensland v New South Wales is one of those games everyone marks down on their calendar. We’re excited to be playing them at Suncorp Stadium, in our traditional maroon strip.
“We haven’t made a lot of changes for the match because we feel the team has put in two big efforts where we’ve just fallen short in recent weeks.  
“It’s a great opportunity for Moses to get his first start. He’s an exciting young prospect and we felt he deserved the chance to show what he can do from the kick off. We also felt it was the right time to give Hamish another opportunity in the starting flyhalf jersey. It’s only his second start at flyhalf. He enjoyed his experience against the Lions and this is another chance in the 10 jersey.
“This is our last match at Suncorp Stadium for a number of weeks so it would be great to see a lot of support from our home crowd.”
The Reds host the Waratahs at Suncorp Stadium this Saturday at 7:45pm AEST. Tickets are available at The match will also be broadcast live on Fox Sports.
St.George Queensland Reds team to play NSW Waratahs
7:45pm AEST, Saturday 2 June – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

1. JP Smith – GPS
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers
4. Izack Rodda – Easts
5. Kane Douglas – Norths
6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
7. George Smith – Brothers
8. Scott Higginbotham (C) - Wests
9. Moses Sorovi – Wests (run-on debut)
10. Hamish Stewart – Bond University
11. Jordan Petaia – Wests
12. Duncan Paia’aua – Norths
13. Samu Kerevi – Souths
14. Izaia Perese – Easts
15. Jono Lance – University of Queensland
16. Alex Mafi – Bond University
17. Sef Fa’agase – University of Queensland
18. Ruan Smith – GPS
19. Harry Hockings – University of Queensland
20. Caleb Timu – Souths
21. Liam Wright – Easts
22. Ben Lucas – Sunnybank
23. Jayden Ngamanu – Souths

2019 Memberships