Super Rugby


Ten Queenslanders named in Junior Wallabies side to play Fiji

The Junior Wallabies side to play Fiji U20s at Bond University on the Gold Coast for round one of the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship tomorrow has been named, featuring ten Queenslanders. 

St.George Queensland Reds Angus Blyth and Tate McDermott have been named, along with a further eight players from the Reds Academy.  

Australia will take on Fiji U20s, kicking off Friday 27 April at 7pm AEST in the first of three matches as it looks to win its first Oceania Rugby U20s Championship title. 

Junior Wallabies Head Coach, Jason Gilmore said: “Fiji will present a strong challenge first up for us and we know that they can attack from anywhere. 

“The team has prepared well for this tournament and there is excitement to start our 2018 season on the Gold Coast. 

“Ryan Lonergan will lead the team out as Captain, he’s an excellent Rugby player both physically and mentally and he will lead us well throughout the Oceania campaign.”

All matches from the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship will be broadcast LIVE on 

Junior Wallabies side to face Fiji U20s: 
1. George Francis, Eastwood
2. Efi Maafu, QLD, Wests Bulldogs
3. Tom Ross, Gungahlin
4. Trevor Hosea, Harlequins
5. Angus Blyth, QLD, Bond University
6. Esei Haangana (vc), Melbourne Unicorns 
7. Fraser McReight, QLD, Brothers 
8. Patrick Tafa, Norths (Sydney) 
9. Ryan Lonergan (c), Vikings
10. Lawson Creighton, QLD, Brothers 
11. Matt McTaggart, Easts
12. Isaac Lucas, QLD, Sunnybank
13. Len Ikitau, Vikings
14. James Ramm, Randwick 
15. Mac Hansen, Gungahlin

16. Matt Faessler, QLD, Brothers 
17. Charlie Hancock, Sydney University 
18. Josh Nasser, QLD, University of Queensland 
19. Hugh Margin, Gordon 
20. Tom Kibble, QLD, GPS 
21. Tate McDermott, QLD, University of Queensland 
22. Tony Hunt, QLD, Norths 
23. Tom Fuller, Randwick 

2019 Memberships