Super Rugby


Queensland Women’s XV side named for inaugural Super W opener

Queensland Women’s XV head coach Michael Hayes has named his match day 23 for the inaugural Super W opener between Queensland and NSW at Suncorp Stadium this Saturday, March 10. 

The match will see the Queensland Women’s side launch the new Super W competition in a double-header, which also features the St.George Queensland Reds’ clash against the Bulls. 

The Queensland side is littered with players with international experience, as well as some exciting young talent. 

A total of ten capped Wallaroos have been named, as well as former New Zealand Sevens and XVs representative Lavinia Gould. 

An all Wallaroo frontrow of Liz Patu, Cheyenne Campbell and Hana Ngaha will be joined in the forward pack by fellow Australian representatives Kiri Lingman, Kirby Sefo (captain) and Alexandra Hargreaves. 

Hargreaves, a late edition to the squad, brings with her experience from three Women’s XV World Cups (2002, 2006 and 2010) as well as the 2009 Women’s Rugby Sevens World Cup where she was part of the title winning side. 

In the backs, the experienced Gould will be joined by three of the Wallaroos top performers from the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup in Ireland, Reta Marsters, Sarah Riordan and Samantha Treherne, while Brisbane Global Rugby Tens star Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea will feature on the wing. 

In the reserves, capped Wallaroos Ivy Kaleta and props Toa Filimoehala and Wynona Braice will provide cover for the frontrow, while lock Shannon Mato and backrower Brianne Rossato have also been named. 

University of Queensland duo Asako Ono and Lori Cramer, as well as Redlands’ Alana Elsaia will provide cover for the backs. 

Sunnybank flanker Sefo, who was earlier this week named as captain, will lead the side in their first Super W match. Five Queensland debutants also feature in the starting XV, with a further five set for their potential debut from the reserves.  

Head coach Michael Hayes said: “We’ve put in a lot of hard work over the last few months and the girls have made a lot of sacrifices to ensure the squad are ready for Saturday’s competition opener. 

“We’ve assembled a strong squad with a great mix of experience and youthful talent. We have plenty of players you have been tested at the international level which is a great benefit. 

“We saw at the Brisbane Global Tens the spectacle that our women athletes produced for Rugby fans. The final between Queensland and NSW was the highest rating game on Fox Sports across the tournament and rightfully so, it was a brilliant display of the interstate rivalry between these two sides. 

“Rugby fans can look forward to the next chapter in this rivalry on Saturday afternoon. NSW have dominated Women’s XV Rugby for some time and our side are hungry to back up their performance at the Tens with a win in the XVs format. 

“We’re lucky to host NSW in the tournament opener here at Suncorp Stadium and I encourage the Queensland Rugby community to get to the game and show their support for a great new addition to the Australian Rugby calendar.” 

The match between Queensland Women’s XV and NSW Women’s kicks off at 4:00pm AEST, tickets and match information are available via 

The match will be broadcast via Fox Sports delay, airing directly after the Reds v Bulls clash. 

Queensland Women’s XV to face NSW Women’s XV: 

1. Liz Patu – Wests*
2. Cheyenne Campbell – Redlands*
3. Hana Ngaha – Sunnybank*
4. Kiri Lingman – Sunnybank*
5.Phoebe Thomas – Sunnybank (Queensland debut) 
6. Kirby Sefo (c) – Sunnybank*
7.Lucy Lockhart – Wests (Australian Defence Force)  (Queensland debut) 
8.Alexandra Hargreaves – Helensvale* (Queensland debut) 
9. Ana Afuie – Sunnybank 
10. Lavinia Gould** - Sunnybank
11.Ivania Wong – Sunnybank (Queensland debut) 
12. Reta Marsters – Sunnybank*
13.Sarah Riordan – Wests* (Australian Defence Force) (Queensland debut)
14. Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea - Sunnybank
15. Samantha Treherne – Sunnybank*

16. Ivy Kaleta – Sunnybank*
17. Toa Filimoehala – Brothers (potential Queensland debut) 
18.Wynona Baice – Wests (potential Queensland debut) 
19. Shannon Mato – Sunnybank (potential Queensland debut) 

20. Brianne Rossato – University of Queensland (potential Queensland debut) 
21. Asako Ono – University of Queensland 
22. Lori Cramer – University of Queensland 
23. Alana Elisaia – Redlands (potential Queensland debut) 

*Denotes capped Wallaroo
**Denotes capped New Zealand international 

2019 Memberships