Super Rugby


Teammates play out 14-all draw in intra-squad trial

With the squad split down the middle, the St.George Queensland Reds have played out a 14-all draw in an intra-squad opposed session at Ballymore Stadium on Friday night. 

The fixture was the side’s first pre-season hit out of 2018 and took place following the annual St.George Twilight Fan Day. 

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said he was pleased with what he saw, as his side edges closer to the Vodafone Super Rugby season. 

“I was really pleased with tonight. You saw two sides compete really hard. They’re all good mates but they were cracking on in there. It’s a start. We can have a look at that, learn from it and progress.”

Queensland Red’s tries were scored by Samu Kerevi and Hamish Stewart, with conversions to James Tuttle and Isaac Lucas. Queensland White’s tries were scored by Moses Sorovi and Tai Ford, with conversions by Nic Jooste and Jake Strachan. 

The Reds’ next pre-season fixture is the second edition of the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens, taking place at Suncorp Stadium next Friday and Saturday. They will then host Fiji Warriors at Ballymore Stadium on Thursday 15 February. 

The Reds’ Super Rugby season gets underway with an away match on Friday 23 February against the Melbourne Rebels. Their first home game is against the Brumbies on Friday 2 March, at Suncorp Stadium. 


St.George Queensland Reds intra-squad opposed training session team lists
Queensland Red

1. James Slipper
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa
3. Sef Fa’agase
4. Lukhan Tui
5. Kane Douglas
6. Caleb Timu
7. Adam Korczyk
8. Scott Higginbotham
9. James Tuttle
10. Hamish Stewart
11. Izaia Perese
12. Samu Kerevi
13. Chris Feauai-Sautia
14. Filipo Daugunu
15. Lachie Maranta

16. Alex Casey
17. Harry Hoopert
18. Gav Luka
19. Jeremiah Lynch
20. Efi Ma’afu
21. Tate McDermott
22. Isaac Lucas
23. NA

Queensland White
1. JP Smith
2 Alex Mafi
3. Taniela Tupou
4. Harry Hockings
5. Angus Blyth
6. Angus Scott-Young
7. Liam Wright
8. Reece Hewat
9. Moses Sorovi
10. Teti Tela
11. Jayden Ngamanu
12. Duncan Paia’aua
13. Jordan Petaia
14. Jock Campbell
15. Nick Jooste

16. Andrew Ready
17. Richie Asiata
18. Salesi Manu
19. NA
20. Tuaina Tualima
21. Tai Ford
22. Jake Strachan
23. Shai Wiperi

2019 Memberships