Super Rugby


Four Queenslanders announced as finalists for 2017 Newcomer of the Year

Four Queenslanders have been announced as finalists for the 2017 Newcomer of the Year award, to be presented at the annual Volvo-RUPA Awards Luncheon in Sydney this Wednesday.

St.George Queensland Reds Lukhan Tui, Izaia Perese and Izack Rodda and Australian Women’s Sevens representative Emma Sykes were all announced as finalists this morning

It was a massive year for Perese and Rodda who both earned their Super Rugby debuts before featuring for the Reds on 12 occasions.

Tui added nine Reds’ caps to the four he earned in 2016 and then went on to earn his Wallabies debut against South Africa in Bloemfontein.

Rodda also earned his Wallabies debut in the Wallabies narrow Bledisloe Cup loss to the All Blacks in Dunedin.

While Perese is yet to make his Wallabies debut, he was selected on the Wallabies’ Spring Tour again in 2017 and also starred for Australia at the World Rugby U20s championship.

Young Australian Women’s Rugby Sevens playmaker Emma Sykes played five of the six HSBC Women’s Sevens World Series tournaments in her maiden campaign.

She also helped University of Queensland to the inaugural AON Uni 7s title, which the side claimed with a perfect undefeated record.

The Newcomer of the Year award was first presented in 2006. To be eligible, finalists must have played no more than 6 Super Rugby games or 2 World Rugby Sevens series events in the year prior to when they are nominated.

The Newcomer of the Year award is one of eight major awards presented at the Volvo-RUPA Awards Lunch including the RUPA Medal for Excellence, the most prestigious player-voted honour in Australian Rugby, as well as the Academic Achievement Award and Community Service awards.