Super Rugby


St.George Queensland Reds squad and coaching staff confirmed for 2018 Vodafone Super Rugby season

The St.George Queensland Reds have confirmed their squad and coaching staff for the 2018 Vodafone Super Rugby season.

Joining the Reds coaching staff for the first time in 2018 will be former Queensland and Wallabies winger Paul Carozza, who has spent the last 15 years in various coaching roles at Ballymore, most recently as assistant coach with 2017 National Rugby Championship winners Bond University Queensland Country and the undefeated Queensland U20s.

Carozza will join newly appointed Head Coach Brad Thorn and recently appointed Assistant Coach Tony McGahan to form the coaching team for 2018.

The 2018 Reds squad features 10 new signings, seven of which have been selected from Queensland Country following their grand final win in the National Rugby Championship, including Wallabies Spring Tour development player Liam Wright and NRC leading try scorer Filipo Daugunu.

Heading to Ballymore for the first time will be former Brumbies and Stormers prop JP Smith, along with NSW Country Eagles hooker Brandon Paenga-Amosa.

A number of players have also been promoted from within the Reds pathway, including young locks Angus Blyth and Harry Hockings, back rower Angus Scott-Young, flyhalf Hamish Stewart and scrumhalf Tate McDermott. In total, 83% of the 2018 squad have emerged from Queensland pathway programs.

Six players have been re-signed ahead of the 2018 season, including recent Wallabies debutant Karmichael Hunt, as well as Queensland Country standouts Caleb Timu, Chris Feauai-Sautia, Duncan Paia’aua, Izaia Perese and Eto Nabuli, who was also the Reds leading try scorer in 2017.

Twenty players have been retained from the 2017 squad, including Wallabies Lukhan Tui, Izack Rodda, Samu Kerevi, James Slipper, George Smith, Scott Higginbotham and Taniela Tupou.

St.George Queensland Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’re excited to have Paul (Carozza) joining the Reds coaching staff, after providing me with good support in the Queensland Under 20s and with Queensland Country. He’s got a long history in Queensland Rugby and he is passionate about driving success at the Reds.

“We’ve managed to keep a fairly consistent squad for 2018, but we’ve also rewarded a lot of new players for their hunger and hard work throughout the 2017 season. I’m pleased to see them get their opportunity to be part of the Reds squad.

“It’s good to be back at Ballymore and into the thick of pre-season. We’ve got a lot of hard work ahead of us, but we’re excited by the challenge. Everyone you’ll see in Reds colours in 2018 will have worked extremely hard to get there.”

Reds fans should keep an eye out for further player announcements prior to the 2018 season.

Reds Memberships are available now on sale at

2018 St.George Queensland Reds Squad

Name Club School SR Caps Test Caps
Sef Fa’agase University of Queensland Shailer Park State School 34 -
Harry Hoopert (new signing) Brothers Toowoomba Grammar School - -
James Slipper Bond University The Southport School 95 86
J.P. Smith (new signing) TBC 27 -
Taniela Tupou Brothers Sacred Heart College 17 1
Markus Vanzati Souths Toowoomba Grammar School 5 -
Alex Mafi Bond University St. Joseph’s Nudgee College 8 -
Andrew Ready Easts St. Joseph’s College, Gregory Terrace 27 -
Brandon Paenga-Amosa (new signing) Southern Districts, NSW Endeavour Sports High School, NSW - -
Angus Blyth (new signing) Bond University The Southport School - -
Kane Douglas Norths Maclean High School 90 31
Harry Hockings (new signing) University of Queensland Anglican Church Grammar School - -
Izack Rodda Easts Ipswich Grammar School 12 4
Lukhan Tui Souths John Edmonson High School 13 4
Back Row
Michael Gunn Easts Anglican Church Grammar School 8 -
Reece Hewat Norths St. Joseph’s Nudgee College 1 -
Scott Higginbotham Wests The Southport School 123 34
Adam Korczyk University of Queensland Brisbane State High School 16 -
Angus Scott-Young (new signing) University of Queensland Anglican Church Grammar School - -
George Smith Brothers Cromer High School 157 111
Caleb Timu (re-signed) Souths St. Joseph’s Nudgee College 2 -
Liam Wright (new signing) Easts Anglican Church Grammar School - -
Nick Frisby GPS Marist College Ashgrove 65 5
Tate McDermott (new signing) University of Queensland Sunshine Coast Grammar School - -
Moses Sorovi University of Queensland St Peters Lutheran College 1 -
James Tuttle GPS St. Joseph’s Nudgee College 18 -
Quade Cooper Souths Anglican Church Grammar School 117 70
Hamish Stewart (new signing) Bond University Toowoomba Grammar School 5 -
Outside Backs
Chris Feauai-Sautia (re-signed) Souths Brisbane State High School 47 2
Samu Kerevi Souths Brisbane State High School 44 18
Duncan Paia’aua (re-signed) Norths Emmaus College Rockhampton 23 -
Filipo Daugunu (new signing) Wests Labasa Sangam College - -
Karmichael Hunt (re-signed) Norths Anglican Church Grammar School 32 6
Lachlan Maranta Wests St. Joseph’s College, Gregory Terrace 2 -
Eto Nabuli (re-signed) GPS Nadroga Navosa Provincial High School 30 1
Izaia Perese (re-signed) Easts Anglican Church Grammar School 12 -

2019 Memberships

Rugby Traveller