Super Rugby


Three Queenslanders bound for the Bahamas for the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games

The Australian Youth Girls Rugby Sevens team has been named for the upcoming 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games in the Bahamas, featuring three Queenslanders. 

Lily Dick, Georgia Hannaway and Rebecca Goulding have all been selected, as well as assistant coach Lachlan Parkinson, the Queensland Academy of Sport (QAS) Women’s Sevens Academy head coach. 

The Australian side will be out to defend their Gold-medal, following their win at the Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa in 2015. 

Coach Dale Roberson has named his final 12-person squad following the National Youth Sevens Championship and three training camps in 2017.

Current Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens player Hannah Southwell will make the trip to the Bahamas, alongside Page McGregor and Lily Dick who have been part of the Australian Senior Development Squad for the past two years.

Youth Girls Sevens coach, Dale Roberson said: “This was an incredibly tough squad to name following some outstanding performances at the National Championships and at the training camps.

“It’s a great sign of the things to come in the women’s game, and I know how desperate the girls are to replicate the Gold medal from Samoa two years ago.

“We have seen some fantastic Rugby players come out of this pathway in the past few years and this group promises to be no different.

“It’s a bigger stage now though so it’s a chance for this squad to take the next step down the path of hopefully becoming Olympians in the years to come,” Roberson said.

Old Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium will host the Girls competition in the Bahamas, with the three-day tournament to kickoff on Wednesday July 19. 

Australia will be up against the likes of powerhouses Canada, Fiji and Wales while Bermuda and Trinidad and Tobago will also be keen to knock the defending champions off their perch.

The squad has assembled in Runaway Bay, Queensland before departing for the Bahamas on Sunday. 

Australian Girls squad for the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games in the Bahamas: 

1. Page McGregor (State: NSW, DOB: 11/3/99)
2. Lily Dick (State: Gold Coast, QLD, DOB: 26/12/99) 
3. Kennedy Cherrington (State: WA, DOB: 05/01/99)
4. Georgia Hannaway (State: Brisbane, QLD, DOB: 28/12/00)
5. Abby Holmes (State: NSW, DOB: 14/10/00)
6. Layne Morgan (State: NSW, DOB: 20/04/99)
7. Rebecca Goulding (State: Sunshine Coast, QLD, DOB: 30/03/99)
8. Langley Sesega (State: WA, DOB: 09/04/00)
9. Arabella McKenzie (State: NSW, DOB: 1/03/99)
10. Lily Rose-Bennett (State: ACT, DOB: 10/08/00)
11. Brydie Parker (State: NSW, DOB: 25/10/99)
12. Hannah Southwell (State: NSW, DOB: 4/3/99)

Head Coach: Dale Roberson (Australian Sevens)
Assistant Coach: Lachlan Parkinson (Queensland Rugby Union)
Physiotherapist: Francesca Faulkner (Australian Sevens)

Join our Rugby Family today