Super Rugby


Three Queenslanders named in Women's Youth Commonwealth Games side

Three Queenslanders have been named in the Women’s Youth Commonwealth Games team for the 2017 Youth Commonwealth Games to be held in the Bahamas in July.

Rebecca Goulding, Lillian Dick and Georgia Hannaway will all represent Australia and the Queensland pathway at the five-day international sporting event run from 19-23 July.

The Australian side will be looking to defend their predecessors’ Gold Medal from the tournament held in Samoa in 2015 that proved to be a springboard into the senior program for Queenslanders Dominique Du Tit and Demi Hayes.

Australia will be co-coached by Queenslander Lachlan Parkinson who runs the QAS Women’s Sevens Academy and Dale Roberson.

Parkinson said: “It’s great to see three Queensland girls who are all members of the QAS be selected and its credit to the the effort that they’ve that they’ve earned selection.

“We’ll look forward to trying to defend the Gold Medal that the team won in Samoa back in 2015.”

All three of the girls won the National Youth Sevens Champions in Perth back in December and will now look to build on that success with Australia.

Hannaway is a Queensland pathway success story having first played Rugby when she was six years old.

“Georgia shows that there is a legitimate pathway for girls from a young age right through to Australian selection.”

While Sunshine Coast product Goulding has been fast-tracked into the Australian side having only picked up the game late last year.

“Bec is a result of talent ID. She represented the Australian Youth Touch team and has only been playing Rugby since October, so it’s been a fast rise for her.”

After winning the National Youth Sevens last year, Dick earned selection in the Australian Sevens Development team that competed at the Okinawa Invitational Sevens tournament in Japan earlier in 2017.

“Lily started out in our Gold Coast Youth Girls Development Program before graduating to our QAS Women’s Sevens Academy and has since gone on to represent her state and country.”

The Women’s Sevens side makes up 12 of the 75-strong Australian Commonwealth Games team that will compete in six other sports.

Team List

Keenedy Cheerington – Western Australia
Rebecca Goulding – Queensland
Arabella McKenzie – New South Wales
Langley Sesega – Western Australia
Hannah Southwell – New South Wales
Layne Morgan – New South Wales
Lillian Dick – Queensland
Abby Holmes – New South Wales
Page McGregor – New South Wales
Brydie Parker – New South Wales
Lilly-Rose Bennett – New South Wales
Georgia Hannaway – Queensland

Join our Rugby Family today