Super Rugby


St.George Queensland Reds team to play Hurricanes at Suncorp Stadium

The St.George Queensland Reds have named their side to take on the Hurricanes at Suncorp Stadium this Saturday night. 

Reds head coach Nick Stiles has made four changes to the starting side to take on the 2016 Super Rugby champions in Queensland’s first home game since early March.

In the forwards, lock Rob Simmons returns to the starting side in place of injured Izack Rodda, who suffered an ankle injury in last week’s loss to the Jaguares. A shuffle in the back row sees George Smith return to the starting Number 7 jersey, with Adam Korczyk shifting to blindside flanker and Hendrik Tui moving to the bench.

In the backs, Chris Kuridrani returns to the starting wing for the first time since Round 2, with Izaia Perese on the bench.

Stiles has also named one potential debutant in the match-day 23, with Queensland U20s flyhalf Hamish Stewart on the bench. The Darling Downs product has been a standout for Queensland’s Super U20s side, helping them secure a home final against New South Wales at Ballymore this coming Sunday.

“The Hurricanes will be a massive challenge. We have to look at that as an opportunity. We’ve had some really disappointing losses over the last few weeks, but you can sense within the team that we’re close to producing the right result on the field,” Stiles said.

“Last week’s performance simply wasn’t good enough, but the players have been honest in their appraisal and committed to learning from it and getting better. It’s been a tough few weeks, but we couldn’t be happier to be back at home this weekend with an opportunity to make our fans proud.” 

The St.George Queensland Reds play the Hurricanes at Suncorp Stadium this Saturday 1 April at 6:45pm (AEST). For ticketing and membership information, go to The match will also be broadcast live on Fox Sports. 

St.George Queensland Reds side to play Hurricanes
Saturday 1 April, 6:40pm (AEST), Suncorp Stadium

1. Markus Vanzati – Souths
2. Stephen Moore (C) – University of Queensland
3. Sam Talakai – Brothers
4. Rob Simmons – Sunnybank
5. Kane Douglas – Norths
6. Adam Korczyk – University of Queensland

7. George Smith - Brothers

8. Scott Higginbotham – Wests
9. James Tuttle – GPS
10. Jake McIntyre – Sunnybank
11. Eto Nabuli – GPS
12. Duncan Paia’aua – Norths
13. Samu Kerevi – Souths
14. Chris Kuridrani – GPS
15. Karmichael Hunt – Norths

16. Andrew Ready – Easts
17. Kirwan Sanday – Easts
18. Taniela Tupou – Brothers

19. Lukhan Tui – Souths

20. Hendrik Tui – Norths
21. Nick Frisby – GPS

22. Hamish Stewart – Bond University (potential Queensland/Super Rugby debut)

23. Izaia Perese – Easts

2019 Memberships

Rugby Traveller