Super Rugby


St.George Queensland Reds team to play Jaguares in Buenos Aires

The St.George Queensland Reds have named their side to take on the Jaguares at Jose Amalfitani Stadium in Buenos Aires this Sunday 26 March at 7:40am (AEST).

Reds head coach Nick Stiles has made seven changes to his starting side for this weekend’s match, which will be the first-ever meeting between the two sides.

In the forwards, prop Markus Vanzati will make his run-on debut in place of injured captain James Slipper. Stephen Moore, who will captain the side in Slipper’s absence, returns to the starting side, with Andrew Ready on the bench.

Young lock Izack Rodda has recovered from a head knock suffered against the Crusaders and returns to the starting side in place of Rob Simmons.

In the back row, Leroy Houston has been presented his first opportunity of the season at starting blindside flanker ahead of Hendrik Tui, while Adam Korczyk replaces George Smith in the Number 7 jersey for the first time this year.

In the backs, James Tuttle has earned his run-on debut in the Number 9 jersey, with Nick Frisby on the bench. Tuttle will partner with Jake McIntyre, who comes in for the suspended Quade Cooper.

Stiles has also named two potential debutants on the bench in prop Kirwan Sanday and outside back Lachlan Maranta.

“We always knew we’d need to use a good mix of players over the course of these two tour games because it’s a grueling trip. We’ve also got the benefit of depth and genuine competition for spots, so it’s important to reward the players who have been working hard to crack into the side," Stiles said.

“It’s going to be a challenging match. The Jaguares are similar to the Lions in a lot of ways, they love to run the ball. They’re also a very passionate side. They play with physicality and their heart on their sleeve. We know it’s going to be tough.”

The St.George Queensland Reds play the Jaguares at Jose Amalfitani Stadium this Sunday 26 March at 7:40am (AEST). The match will be broadcast live on Fox Sports.

St.George Queensland Reds side to play Jaguares
Sunday 26 March, 7:40am (AEST), Jose Amalfitani Stadium
1. Markus Vanzati (run-on debut)
2. Stephen Moore (C)
3. Sam Talakai
4. Izack Rodda
5. Kane Douglas
6. Leroy Houston
7. Adam Korczyk
8. Scott Higginbotham
9. James Tuttle (run-on debut)
10. Jake McIntyre
11. Eto Nabuli
12. Duncan Paia’aua
13. Samu Kerevi
14. Izaia Perese
15. Karmichael Hunt

16. Andrew Ready
17. Kirwan Sanday (potential Queensland/Super Rugby debut)
18. Taniela Tupou
19. Lukhan Tui
20. Hendrik Tui
21. Nick Frisby
22. Lachlan Maranta (potential Queensland/Super Rugby debut)
23. Chris Kuridrani

2019 Memberships

Rugby Traveller