Super Rugby


17 Queenslanders Selected in BMW Australia U20s Squad

17 Queenslanders have been named in the preliminary squad of 48 players with St.George Queensland Reds, Izaia Perese, Jayden Ngamanu and Reece Hewat all still eligible for U20s selection.

Queensland’s pathways are well represented with players from the Darling Downs, Bowen, Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast all selected for the camp.

The BMW Australia U20s will come together for their first training camp ahead of the World Rugby U20s Championship in Georgia in June.

The squad will come together at Runaway Bay on the Gold Coast this April (4-7) as part of their continued build up under new Head Coach Simon Cron.

Cron has selected a preliminary squad of 48 players, who have impressed in the opening rounds of the Super U20s Championship, while it also contains four members of the Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens squad.

BMW Australia U20s Head Coach, Simon Cron said: “This camp will be the first opportunity we have to get content across to our players, as well as skill evaluation and execution. It will be a high intensity camp and we need to tick the box on a lot of critical stuff.

“We will be putting guys into different scenarios and seeing how they play as well as start to develop our culture and Identity as a group.

“The door is still open for players in the Super U20s Championship as we are always watching and looking for players who will suit the way we want to play the game.”

The players returning from the BMW Australia 2016 squad include; Sham Vui (Western Force U20s), Jordan Uelese (Melbourne Rebels U20s), Harry Hockings (Queensland U20s), Ryan McCauley (NSW Waratahs), Angus Scott-Young (Queensland Reds), Rob Leota (Melbourne Rebels U20s), Liam Wright (Queensland U20s), Harry Nucifora (Queensland U20s), Liam McNamara, (Aussie 7s), Nick Jooste (Brumbies U20s), Sione Tuipulotu (Melbourne Rebels U20s), Izaia Perese (Queensland Reds), Simon Kennewell (Aussie 7s) and Jack Maddocks (Melbourne Rebels).

Aussie 7s speedster Henry Hutchison is set for his first opportunity in the Australia U20s, after missing the 2016 season due to commitments with Sevens program.

Australia will host the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship on the Gold Coast against Fiji, Samoa and New Zealand, kicking off on April 28.

BMW Australia U20s Extended Squad:


Harry Hoopert – Brothers, Jondaryan, Queensland
Harry Johnson-Holmes
Cody Walker
Sham Vui,
Harry Chapman
Gavin Luka – Bond University, Gold Coast, Queensland
Vaauli Faamausili
Angus Wagner
Jordan Uelese
Phil Bradford
Efi Maafu – Wests, Brisbane, Queensland
Tom Horton
Harry Hockings – University of Queensland, Bowen, Queensland
Angus Blyth – Bond University, Gold Coast, Queensland

Ryan McCauley
Esei Haangana
Darcy Swain
Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland, Brisbane, Queensland
Max Girdler
Lachlan Swinton
Reece Hewat – Norths, Brisbane, Queensland
Rob Leota
Rob Valetini
Liam Wright – Easts, Brisbane, Queensland
Angus Allen,
Brodie Leber


Harrison Goddard
Harry Nucifora – Bond University, Gold Coast, Queensland
Ryan Lonergan
Theo Strang
Tate McDermott – Aussie 7s, University of Queensland, Sunshine Coast, Queensland
Liam McNamara – Aussie 7s, Sunnybank, Brisbane, Queensland
Hamish Stewart – Bond University, Toowoomba, Queensland

Nick Jooste
Tony Hunt – University of Queensland, Brisbane, Queensland
Sione Tuipulotu
Izaia Perese – Easts, Brisbane, Queensland
Dylan Riley – Bond University, Gold Coast, Queensland

Esere Chee Kam
Len Ikitau
Henry Hutchison
Simon Kennewell
Jayden Ngamanu – Souths, Brisbane, Queensland
Angelo Leaupepe
Will Eadie – University of Queensland, Brisbane, Queensland
Jack Maddocks
Clay Uyen
Semisi Tupou

Join our Rugby Family today