Super Rugby


Liam Gill wins 2016 Pilecki Medal

Former St.George Queensland Reds flanker Liam Gill has been named the 2016 Pilecki Medal winner for players’ player of the year.

The 24-year-old claimed the back-to-back title, after winning it for the first time in 2015. 

Gill, who has since left the Reds to join French Top 14 club Toulon, tallied 282 votes from his peers, followed by returning Reds standouts Hendrik Tui (229) and Samu Kerevi (201).

Legendary Queensland prop Stan Pilecki, who the award was named after, said: “I thought he was one of our better players, consistent and I liked his aggression. From my point of view if I had to pick someone to win it I would have picked him anyway.

“Quite often it’s won back to back, he clearly hit a rich vein of form and made a significant contribution over the last couple of years.

“It’s tough to stand out in a losing team and he did that well over the last couple of years. We’ve had a tough few years, but the wheel turns. We’ve filled a lot of the gaps we had last year and I’m pretty hopeful and confident for next season.”

Gill will be presented the award formally when he is next in Australia. 

2016 Pilecki Medal Top 10
Liam Gill – 282
Hendrik Tui – 229
Samu Kerevi – 201
Nick Frisby – 183
Greg Holmes – 162
Curtis Browning – 143
Andrew Ready – 122
Karmichael Hunt – 98
James Slipper – 83
Anthony Fainga’a – 78

Pilecki Medal History
2016 Liam Gill (282 votes)
2015 Liam Gill (420 votes)
2014 James Slipper (239 votes)
2013 Jake Schatz (269 votes)
2012 James Slipper (272 votes)
2011 Will Genia (263 votes)
2010 Will Genia (209 votes)
2009 Digby Ioane (253 votes)
2008 David Croft (195 votes)
2007 David Croft (188 votes)
2006 Rodney Blake (186 votes)
2005 Nathan Sharpe
2004 Chris Latham
2003 Julian Huxley
2002 Chris Latham
2001 Toutai Kefu
2000 Chris Latham
1999 Chris Latham
1998 Daniel Herbert
1997 John Eales
1996 Jason Little
1995 Jason Little
1994 Matthew Pini
1993 Rod McCall
1992 Peter Slattery

2019 Memberships

Rugby Traveller