Super Rugby


St.George Queensland Reds senior squad confirmed for 2017

The St.George Queensland Reds have confirmed their 38-man Senior Squad for the 2017 Super Rugby season, with 13 new signings in total joining the ranks at Ballymore Stadium – the most recent of which is the return of Wallabies loose forward Scott Higginbotham on a three-year deal. Higginbotham will join the squad at the completion of his Japanese contract.

The 2017 squad also includes the return of Wallabies Quade Cooper and Stephen Moore and former Reds and Bath loose forward Leroy Houston, as well as the new signings of George Smith and former Broncos Caleb Timu and Lachlan Maranta.

Several players from Queensland’s pathway programs have also been promoted to the senior squad, including McInnes Wilson Lawyers Brisbane City prop Markus Vanzati, City/Queensland U20s scrumhalf Moses Sorovi and outside back Jayden Ngamanu, Bond University Queensland Country/Queensland U20s representatives Alex Mafi and Izack Rodda and former Australian Schoolboys captain Reece Hewat.

The Reds also re-signed recent Wallabies debutant Samu Kerevi, Japanese Test player Hendrik Tui, winger Chris Feauai-Sautia and playmaker Duncan Paia’aua.

In addition to those names, 20 players from last year’s senior squad were retained, including Wallabies Kane Douglas, Rob Simmons, James Slipper and Nick Frisby.

The 2017 squad features substantial experience, with a total of 1,239 Super Rugby caps (up from 1,045 in 2016) and 540 Test caps (up from 355 in 2016).

The overall makeup of the squad is also a strong reflection on the strength of Rugby in the state, with more than 70% of players coming from the Queensland pathway.

In addition to the senior squad, Queensland Rugby has also signed a further nine development players to ensure the future success of the Reds. The Reds development squad includes 2016 Queensland/Australian Under 20 forwards Angus Scott-Young and Harry Hocking, Queensland Under 20s prop Harry Hoopert as well as promising young outside back Will Eadie.

St.George Queensland Reds head coach Nick Stiles said: “We’re extremely happy with the balance of the 2017 squad. We have managed to retain the best young talent in Queensland, while also recruiting some of the most experienced players in Australian Rugby.

“And we’ve contained a further nine of the best young players from the Queensland pathway, who will play a significant role in the succession planning and future success of the team for years to come.

“It’s an exciting squad with experienced, hardened forwards and skilful backs as well as strong ball runners, which allows us to play some exciting Rugby.

“The players and staff are already looking forward to the 2017 season and if you’re a fan of the Reds, you should be pretty excited as well.”

Reds Memberships are available now on sale at

Name Club School SR Caps Test Caps
Sef Fa'agase University of Queensland Shailer Park State High School 23 -
Pettowa Paraka Easts The Southport School 7 -
James Slipper Bond University The Southport School 91 82
Sam Talakai Brothers Waverley College 27 -
Taniela Tupou Brothers Sacred Heart College, NZ 3 -
Markus Vanzati
(elevated from EDS)
Souths Toowoomba Grammar School - -
Alex Mafi
(elevated from EDS)
Bond University St. Joseph's Nudgee College - -
Stephen Moore
(new signing)
University of Queensland Brisbane Grammar School 165 111
Andrew Ready Easts St. Joseph's College, Gregory Terrace 19 -
Second Row
Kane Douglas Norths Maclean High School 79 27
Cadeyrn Neville Bond University Manly Selective Campus 63 -
Izack Rodda
(elevated from EDS)
Easts Ipswich Grammar - -
Rob Simmons Sunnybank The Southport School 101 65
Lukhan Tui Brothers John Edmonson High School 4 -
Back Row
Michael Gunn Easts Anglican Church Grammar School 8 -
Reece Hewat
(new signing)
Norths St. Joseph's Nudgee College - -
Scott Higginbotham
(new signing)
Wests The Southport School 109 32
Leroy Houston
(new signing)
Wests Asquith Boys High School 48 1
Adam Korczyk University of Queensland Brisbane State High School 3 -
George Smith
(new signing)
TBD Cromer High School 142 111
Caleb Timu
(new signing)
Sunnybank St. Joseph's Nudgee College - -
Hendrik Tui
Norths De La Salle College, NZ 17 38
Nick Frisby GPS Marist College Ashgrove 54 2
Moses Sorovi
(elevated from EDS)
University of Queensland St. Peters Lutheran College - -
James Tuttle GPS St. Joseph's Nudgee College 5 -
Quade Cooper
(new signing)
Souths Anglican Church Grammar School 105 63
Jake McIntyre Sunnybank Alstonville High School 16 -
Samu Kerevi
Souths Brisbane State High School 31 7
Campbell Magnay GPS St. Joseph's Nudgee College 12 -
Duncan Paia'aua
Norths Emmaus College Rockhampton 8 -
Henry Taefu Sunnybank Anglican Church Grammar School 4 -
Outside Backs
Chris Feauai-Sautia
Souths Brisbane State High School 47 2
Karmichael Hunt Norths Anglican Church Grammar School 19
(125 NRL)
Chris Kuridrani GPS Ipswich Grammar 14 -
Lachlan Maranta
(new signing)
TBD St. Joseph's College, Gregory Terrace -
(70 NRL)
Jayden Ngamanu
(new signing)
Souths Brisbane Boys College - -
Eto Nabuli GPS Nadroga Navosa High School 15
(13 NRL)
Izaia Perese Easts Anglican Church Grammar School - -

2019 Memberships

Rugby Traveller