Super Rugby


Queensland Under-20s team named for inaugural Super U20s Championship clash against NSW

The Queensland Under-20s team has been named for their opening Round clash of the inaugural Super U20s Championship against NSW Gen Blue in Sydney this Saturday, 27 February.

The match will be played as the curtain raiser to the St.George Queensland Reds v NSW Waratahs clash at Allianz Stadium. The Under-20s game will be played on the stadium’s outer field Kippax Oval at 4:15pm AEDT.

The match-day 23 features three Reds senior squad members, with Taniela Tupou starting at tighthead prop, James Tuttle at scrumhalf and Campbell Magnay at outside centre.

The squad also includes 2015 Bond University Queensland Country National Rugby Championship representatives Alex Mafi, Maclean Jones, Mack Mason and Harry Nucifora, as well as a host of Australian and Queensland schoolboy representatives.

Sunnybank centre Fred Dorrough will captain the side, with Easts flanker Liam Wright named vice-captain.

A number of players who have emerged from Country Queensland have also been named in the squad, with the regions of Mount Isa, Bowen, St.George, Mitchell and Jondaryan represented, as well as Alstonville and Tweed Heads in the Northern Rivers area of New South Wales.

Head coach Jason Gilmore said the squad features some of Queensland’s best up and coming talent.

“There is a long-standing rivalry between Queensland and New South Wales at all levels of Rugby and to face Gen Blue in the opening round of the Super U20s Championships is a fitting start as well as a great test for our team,” Gilmore said.

“The team have had solid preparation for the match and it’s important to start the competition well.

“We have a lot of talented players within the squad who have already played representative Rugby at various levels, but we’re focusing on putting the team first and carrying that mentality throughout the competition.”

The Queensland Under-20s v NSW Gen Blue clash will be live streamed, details to follow. 

Queensland Under-20s team for NSW Gen Blue clash:

1.     Richie Asiata – Easts/Logan

2.     Alex Mafi – Bond University/Gold Coast/Mount Isa

3.     Taniela Tupou – Brothers

4.     Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland

5.     Harry Hockings – University of Queensland/Bowen

6.     Maclean Jones – University of Queensland/St.George

7.     Liam Wright (vc) – Easts

8.     Tuaina Tualima – Sunnybank

9.     James Tuttle – GPS

10.  Mack Mason – Easts/Mitchell

11.  Joey Fittock – Sunnybank/Alstonville

12.  Fred Dorrough (c) – Sunnybank/Tweed Heads

13.  Campbell Magnay – GPS

14.  Sam Edwards – University of Queensland

15.  Liam McNamara – Sunnybank


16.  Josh Taylor – Bond University/Gold Coast

17.  Harry Hoopert – Brothers/Jondaryan

18.  Hamish Richardson – University of Queensland

19.  Connor Anderson – Norths

20.  Connor Moroney – University of Queensland

21.  Harry Nucifora – Bond University/Gold Coast

22.  Dylan Riley – Bond University/Gold Coast

23.  Jayden Ngamanu – Souths


2019 Memberships

Rugby Traveller