Super Rugby


Emilee Cherry wins two Australian Sevens awards – Dick Marks claims Joe French Award at the John Eales Medal

Queensland and Australian Rugby Sevens star Emilee Cherry has been rewarded for her stellar efforts throughout the 2013/2014 IRB Sevens season, receiving both the Shawn Mackay Award - Qantas Sevens Player of the Year and the Australian Rugby’s Women’s Player of the Year Award at the John Eales Medal in Sydney.   

Former Wallaby and Queensland great Dick Marks, the grandfather of current Reds flanker Curtis Browning, was awarded the prestigious Joe French Award. 

The Joe French Award is awarded to a high profile individual who has made a significant contribution to Australian Rugby across a long period of time. The Award recognises outstanding service to the game and is named after former Queensland great Joe French, whose contribution to Rugby spanned more than sixty years as a player, state representative, coach, manager, selector and administrator. 

Dick Marks, a centre hailing from Brisbane Grammar School and the University of Queensland and Teachers Rugby Clubs, played Rugby for Queensland between 1962 and 1972. In that time he played 51 matches for Australia including 17 Tests. 

Marks’ was a pioneer in the area of coach education and became the ARU’s inaugural National Director of Coaching in 1974, a position which he held for 22 years. He was influential in the introduction of the National Coaching Scheme and by 1992, Australia had won a Grand Slam tour, a Beldisloe Cup series and a World Cup. 

He also served on the first International Rugby Board (IRB) Technical Committee and wrote a Charter for the Game.* 

A number of other Queenslanders were also nominated for awards; 

•    James Slipper – John Eales Medal and Australia’s Choice - Qantas Wallaby of the Year
•    Jake Schatz – Qantas Wallabies Rookie of the Year 
•    James Horwill – Nick Farr-Jones – Spirit of Rugby award 
•    Samu Kerevi – Super Rugby Rookie of the Year and Buildcorp NRC Player of the Year 
•    Con Foley – Australian Men’s Sevens Player of the Year 
•    Shannon Parry – Australian Women’s Sevens Player of the Year 
•    Charlotte Caslick – Australian Women’s Sevens Player of the Year 
•    Rohan Hoffman – Super Rugby Referee of the Year 
•    Steve Walsh – Roger Vanderfield Award – Referee of the Year
•    Geoff Shaw – Joe French Award 

Queensland based referee Steve Walsh was also named the Super Rugby Referee of the Year.  

Emilee Cherry claims Shawn Mackay Award - Qantas Sevens Player of the Year and the Australian Rugby’s Women’s Player of the Year

After being named the IRB’s International Women’s Sevens Player of Year earlier in 2014, 21-year-old Emilee Cherry from Roma has added to her list of personal accolades being named The Shawn Mackay Award - Qantas Sevens Player of the Year. The award, which is open to both Australian Men’s and Women’s Sevens team members, is given to the player that demonstrates a high-level of sportsmanship and leadership in the game of Rugby Sevens in Australia.

Cherry was also named Australian Rugby’s Women’s Player of the Year, an award which recognises the most outstanding performer from the Australian Women’s Sevens side over the past 12 months. She was also recongised for her achievements earlier in the year at the Reds Gala Ball, receiving the Queensland Women’s Sevens Player of the Year award

Emilee Cherry said: “I am proud to pick up both of these awards. Even though I am honoured to be recognised, I owe so much to the rest of the team. We have come a long way over the past 12 months and did well to finish second in the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series, winning tournaments in Dubai and Sao Paulo along the way.

“However, the goal has to be to keep improving as we realise this series – with Olympic qualification on the horizon – is going to be the toughest yet,” she said. 


*Dick Marks biographical information supplied by ARU (

Rugby Traveller