Super Rugby


Queensland Rugby Union celebrates 130-year anniversary

The Queensland Rugby Union (QRU) will celebrate its 130-year anniversary today.

The QRU was formed on November 2, 1883, at a meeting at the Exchange Hotel in Brisbane (now known as the Stock Exchange). 
In its 130-year history, the QRU has fostered the development of Rugby in the state and the code has never been more popular than it is today, with more than 225,000 Queenslanders participating in the sport. 
Queensland’s on-field achievements have included wins over the British & Irish Lions in 1899 and 1971, the All Blacks in 1980 and a World XV in 1982.
More recently, the Reds claimed back-to-back Super 10 titles in 1994 and 1995, and a Super Rugby title in 2011.
The Queensland Reds has also seen significant growth in its fan base with memberships increasing from 6,225 to 36,014 and average attendance rising from 18,646 to 31,848 (2009 to 2013). 
In 2013, the QRU implemented initiatives and created key events to both honour its rich history and celebrate the future.
QRU Chairman Rod McCall said the 130-year anniversary marked an important milestone in the history of Rugby in the state.
“Ever since the formation of our governing body on November 2 1883, Rugby has enjoyed a strong foothold in Queensland,” McCall said.
“Whether it is through playing, coaching, or as a supporter or volunteer, Rugby is much loved in this state.
“Over the course of 130 years, Queensland has produced some of the greatest names to ever play and coach the game and it is this history that we have recognised throughout 2013.”
The 130th anniversary year has included several significant milestone events, including the establishment of the QRU Hall of Fame, a ‘130 years’ display at the Museum of Brisbane, Premier Rugby Heritage Rounds, an indigenous round, a ‘Back to Ballymore’ themed Premier Rugby finals series and an historic match against the touring British & Irish Lions.
This year also featured the launch of the ‘130 legacy project’, The Scrum, which will be the centrepiece of a ground-breaking rugby precinct to be built at Suncorp Stadium. 
The Scrum is an architecturally designed monument representative of the iconic Rugby scrum. To reflect our game’s history, each arm of The Scrum will symbolise one of the 13 decades of Queensland Rugby and the significant achievements during those years. 
The Scrum will be completed in 2014 and unveiled prior to the St.George Queensland Reds’ last home game on July 12 against their first-ever opponents, the NSW Waratahs.
Visit for more information on Queensland Rugby Union’s 130-year celebration initiatives.
Note: On November 2 1883, 12 visionaries met at the Exchange Hotel in Brisbane and agreed to form a Union, originally called the Northern Rugby Union.
Those present on that historic day included QRU Hall of Fame member Arthur Hickson, legendary player and administrator Tom Welsby and other notables.
It became the QRU in 1893, by which time the first organised club Rugby competition in Queensland had been underway for nearly 10 years.
The formation of the Union followed the first Rugby match between Queensland and New South Wales, in 1882.

2019 Memberships

Rugby Traveller