Super Rugby

Women's Rugby in Queensland

There are a range of opportunities for Women to play Rugby Union in Queensland. Club competitions are run in Brisbane, Sunshine Coast and Cairns. Each year Queensland Rugby Union sends a Queensland side to the ARU National Championships. In 2014, the Queensland Women's Sevens team was successful in winning the national championship.

Queensland Women's Sevens Teams Announced

Ballymore Women’s Sevens Series

The Ballymore Women’s Sevens Series is a new initiative designed to assist Queensland Rugby identify the next generation of talent while encouraging more women to play Sevens Rugby ahead of the sport’s inclusion at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio. The new competition was staged over February and played an important role in selecting the Queensland team which won the national championship in 2014.

The very best talent at the Ballymore Women's Sevens Series was identified and fourteen girls were then selected to take part in the national championships at the Australian Institute of Sport over the 8th and 9th of March.

Australian Women’s Sevens

Queensland is strongly represented in Australian Women’s Sevens with five players in the current 2013/14 squad. Shannon Parry, Emilee Cherry, Gemma Etheridge, Nikki Etheridge and Charlotte Caslick are all members of the Women's squad that finished second to New Zealand in the IRB Women's Sevens World Series.

At the conclusion of the tournament, Emilee Cherry was named IRB Women's Sevens World Series Player of the Year.

Queensland will also be represented by five women at the upcoming Youth Olympics that will be held in Nanjing, China. Marioulla Belessis, Shenae Ciesiolka, Dominique Du Toit, Laura Waldie and Amber Pilley have all been named in the 12-strong squad, while Georgina Rackermann and Emma Masi have also been named as shadow players.

Want to play?

For more information on Women's rugby in your area please follow the below links.

Redlands Rugby Union Club

Pine Rivers Pumas   

 Wests Rugby Union Club   

Sunnybank Rugby Union Club

University of Queensland Rugby Union Club  

Logan City Rugby Union Club
Albany Creek GPS Goodna


Sunshine Coast District Rugby Union email: 

Cairns and District Rugby Union email: