Super Rugby


Slipper set to earn 50th Test cap at Suncorp

St.George Queensland Reds prop James Slipper is set to earn his 50th Test for Australia this weekend, as he lines up at loosehead prop for the Wallabies in Saturday night’s opening Castrol EDGE France Tour clash at Suncorp Stadium. 

Along with Slipper, Rob Simmons will also feature in the starting XV at lock, while Reds captain James Horwill has been named in the reserves. 

Joining Simmons in the second row, 24-year-old ACT Brumbies lock Sam Carter will become Wallaby No.879 when he makes his Test debut, following in the footsteps of his father, former Wallaby David Carter.

Wycliff Palu is also set to play his 50th Test match for Australia. For Palu, he will become just the second No.8 in Australian Rugby history to reach the mark, behind only former Queensland great, Toutai Kefu (57 games).

McKenzie has also chosen a new playmaking partnership for the Qantas Wallabies opening Test of 2014 with Nic White and Bernard Foley earning their spots at scrumhalf and flyhalf respectively.

Foley, who earned four caps during his maiden Test season in 2013, has been rewarded for a dominant Super Rugby campaign and will take on the goal-kicking responsibilities in his first starting opportunity for the Qantas Wallabies.

McKenzie said form was critical in finalising his 23 man matchday squad.

“We function in a performance environment and so it’s important to reward those who have consistently played at a high level over the course of the season,” McKenzie said.

“This year we’re in a particularly strong position whereby so many of our players have been performing well for their provinces.  The margins are so small but it unfortunately does mean that quality players are going to miss out, which is the case for our opening Test against France.

“However, selection will always be a week-to-week proposition at a Test level and the challenge now is for those players chosen to continue playing at the high level we know they can.”

McKenzie also backed his new playmaking duo to make the most of their opportunity.

“Nic and Bernard are two players who have had a huge influence in the results of their provincial teams over the past two seasons,” he said.

“I’ve also been pleased to see their development as playmakers since getting a taste of Test Rugby last year and you can sense they have a real confidence in running a game.

“We have a very specific style of game we want to play – the Wallaby way – and their two skill-sets complement each other in ensuring we can deliver our gameplan on the night.

“They’re also established goal-kickers and you can never underestimate the importance of this skill at an international level.”

Tickets are on sale for the Castrol EDGE France Tour, which begins at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on Saturday 7 June; travels through Etihad Stadium in Melbourne on Saturday 14 June; and concludes with a family-friendly Saturday afternoon encounter at Allianz Stadium in Sydney on Saturday 21 June.





Saturday 7 June

Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane



Saturday 14 June

Etihad Stadium, Melbourne



Saturday 21 June

Allianz Stadium, Sydney



The Qantas Wallabies side to play France in the opening Castrol EDGE France Tour Test for the Trophée des Bicentenaires at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday 7 June is:

1. James Slipper (Queensland Reds - 49 caps)
2. Stephen Moore (c - ACT Brumbies - 91 caps)
3. Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs -  38 caps)
4. Rob Simmons (Queensland Reds -  37 caps)
5. Sam Carter (ACT Brumbies - uncapped)*
6. Scott Fardy (ACT Brumbies - 10 caps)
7. Michael Hooper (vc - NSW Waratahs - 28 caps)
8. Wycliff Palu (NSW Waratahs - 49 caps)
9. Nic White (ACT Brumbies - 10 caps)
10. Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs - 4 caps)
11. Nick Cummins (Western Force - 12 cap)
12. Matt Toomua (ACT Brumbies - 10 caps)
13. Tevita Kuridrani (ACT Brumbies - 8 caps)
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (vc - NSW Waratahs - 91 caps)
15. Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs - 15 caps)

16. Tatafu Polota-Nau (NSW Waratahs – 46 caps)
17. Pek Cowan (Western Force - 5 caps)
18. Paddy Ryan (NSW Waratahs - 2 caps)
19. James Horwill (Queensland Reds - 48 caps)
20. Ben McCalman (Western Force - 29 caps)
21. Nick Phipps (NSW Waratahs – 14 caps)
22. Kurtley Beale (NSW Waratahs - 39 caps)
23. Pat McCabe (ACT Brumbies - 20 caps)
* On Debut